Fleet and Family Support Center
201 Highway 34 South
Colts Neck, NJ 07722-5011
Phone (DSN) 312-449-2115
Fax (DSN) 312-449-2131
Mon - Fri 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sat and Sun - closed
Registration & Licensing Requirements
New Jersey State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 7 years of age and 80 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
New Jersey Driver's License
Military personnel have a choice of two driver's licenses: New Jersey or home of record. Territory licenses acceptable in NJ are those from Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and US Virgin Islands. A federal government driver's permit alone is not valid.
Family members who are non-residents of NJ must obtain a NJ driver's license within 60 days or before the current license expires, whichever occurs first. Persons presenting a valid out of state driver's license may have the road test waived if the document and identification are in order. Applicants possessing a driver's license from another state will be required to surrender it in order to receive their NJ license.
NWS Earle maintains strict adherence of the published vehicle regulations by the State of New Jersey. All privately-owned vehicles must be properly registered and have the minimum insurance limits required by the state in which the vehicle is registered. Any vehicle not properly registered will have its base decal removed and ticketed appropriately. The fine for this infraction is very expensive.
Speed Limits -- Speed limits are posted throughout the base and are strictly enforced. Any ticket issued as a result of speeding results in a monetary fine if found guilty by a federal magistrate.
The mainside and waterfront complexes are 15 miles apart and connected by a 15 mile long private government road, Normandy Road. Housing and administrative buildings are on the mainside while the homeported ships are located at the waterfront in Leonardo. The specific regulations for Normandy Road include yielding to Northbound traffic before crossing one-lane bridges and passovers, and pulling to side of road to allow flashing cargo trucks and security vehicles to pass. The speed limit is as posted (25-45 MPH) and is strictly enforced by NWS Earle security. Speeding tickets begin at $50.
NWS Earle has an abundant population of wildlife and they can cause traffic hazards. Deer are blinded by headlights and will stop in their tracks until they can see again. It is suggested you stop and sound your horn to get them to continue with their crossing. Additionally, because they usually travel single file in herds, be sure all have passed before proceeding.
Registering Vehicles on Base
Vehicle stickers are required to enter NWS Earle. Vehicle stickers are available for issue from NWS Earle Pass and ID, Bldg. C-1.
Vehicle stickers at NWS Earle are issued from 6:15 am - 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday. For questions call 732-866-2243. Items needed are current auto insurance, current auto registration and valid drivers license. All documents must be in the drivers name.
Drivers may obtain a 30 day pass for a vechicle that is not in your name by providing a letter from the owner authorizing you to drive the vehicle and current registration, current auto insurance and a valid drivers license.
New Jersey Drivers under the age of 21
“Kyleigh’s Law,” which became effective on 1 May 2010, and places certain restrictions on teenage drivers in New Jersey. Under Kyleigh’s Law, all drivers under age 21, who are subject to the requirements of New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) (which includes those drivers possessing a Special Learners Permit, Examination Permit or Probationary/Provisional License), must display a velcro, reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back) of any motor vehicle they operate.
New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License (GDL)
The GDL program does not affect drivers over 18 who already have a valid driver’s license from another state, and who may wish to obtain a New Jersey license. Such drivers may obtain a New Jersey driver’s license without going through the GDL program. There is currently nothing in the law providing an exemption for those Military Members subject to Kyleigh’s Law.
GDL Restrictions: In addition to the decal requirement, GDL drivers are also subject to the following driving restrictions:
a. May not operate a motor vehicle after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
b. The following restrictions apply to GDL program drivers:
Special Permit Holders (only held by drivers under 17):
- REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES: Supervising driver who is over 21 and licensed (in New Jersey) to drive for at least three (3) years
- MAY HAVE as passengers: parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s).
- MAY HAVE: Only one additional passenger (not listed above), unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Examination Permit Holders (cannot drive alone for either three or six months, depending on whether older than 21 years).
- REQUIRED (for three or six months, depending on whether over 21 years): Supervising New Jersey licensed driver, who is over 21 and licensed in New Jersey to drive for at least three years.
- If the Examination Permit holder is under 21: they must be accompanied by the supervising driver for six months, and until they pass a road test.
- If the Examination Permit holder is over 21: they must be accompanied by the supervising driver for three months, and until they pass the road test.
- MAY HAVE as passengers: Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s)
- MAY HAVE: One additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Probationary/Provisional License Holder (driving permitted w/o supervising driver, with limitations on passengers)
- MAY HAVE as passengers: Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependent(s).
- If under 21, only one additional passenger, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
If a Military Member moves to New Jersey from another state, and does not have a license, they would get an Examination Permit. Initially, (for three or six months) these permits do not allow holders to drive without a supervising driver, who is a New Jersey license holder, and has held his license for three years. After this initial three or six month period, the Examination Permit holder can drive by themselves.
Currently, there is no specific exemption written into the GDL law for Military Members. There is, however, an exemption for work related driving during the prohibited hours. This requires the driver subject to the law to carry a letter from their employer, on official letterhead that is signed by the employer. This exemption does not, however, allow the Examination Permit holder to drive by himself for the initial six or three months, depending on if they are 21. Additionally, this exemption does not waive any of the restrictions pertaining to the passenger limits.